How do I gain weight while being tall and skinny?

For some background, I have been a hard-gainer for my whole life. At 6’4" and 172lbs, I’m struggling to gain weight and keep it on with a very active training schedule. I got to 180lbs two summers ago by cutting out almost all cycling and lifting 5 days a week, but it resulted in horrible fitness on the bike. I was self-conscious about my body image and put on the weight to feel better, but now I want the balance of performance and appearance with a better diet. I am currently a medical student with a committed hour of training on weekdays and 2 hours on weekends, doing my morning workouts before school starts. I am pretty limited by time to cook a lot of things and am looking for a daily/weekly meal plan on a budget of under $100/week to get a balanced caloric intake of around 4,500 calories per day. Any suggestions would really help!

2 Likes

Get a rice maker. You can cook a bunch of different things in it and if you get one with a timer, you can have it go off to be ready at a specific time

Cheap sources of protein and carbs that should help you put on weight

• Rice
  • Lentils
  • Eggs
  • Ground Turkey
  • Plain yogurt
  • Peanut butter
  • Beans
  • Whey protein/“bulking” shakes
  • Milk

A bulking shake with milk is a very good way to get a lot of calories in quickly at a relatively reasonable price.

Basically, if you want to put on weight, keep eating. It should feel like a chore if you are doing it right.

3 Likes

when I was in college I managed to bulk a lot with the following:

1. 3 eggs + pint of milk every morning
  2. protein shakes after every workout
  3. slow cooker meals (they work great for meal prep… slow cooked pulled chicken, chili, etc)
1 Like

Not to be snarky, but if you want to gain weight don’t ride your bike for training. Seems counterproductive.

1 Like