Show me your sourdough game!

From the sheer amount of carb eaters we have around, I can’t believe we don’t have a few bakers. Fellow grainheads, what have you been baking lately?

I’ll start with this week’s twins:
IMG_1734

For the other geeks out there:

Levain:
100g Starter;
100g Weak whole-wheat pastry flour;
100g Water (28c).

Dough:
70% AP Flour;
30% Weak whole-wheat pastry flour;
30% Levain (100% hyd);
70% Water (27c);
2.2% Salt.

1 hour autolyse / 4 hour bulk (room temp - 21c)
Overnight proof (2-3c, 12 hours)
Baked in dutch oven 475F - 30mins with lid on, 20min lid off.

Crumb on the denser side from the relatively low hydration, yet soft and tender from the long fermentation and weak pastry flour. Almost a meal in and on itself!

So, what have you been baking?

7 Likes

My game isn’t too sophisticated since I’m self-taught and only practicing since April, but I’ve made a few things for the house, all sourdough based.

6 Likes

I was about to say that sourdough is overrated… then I saw these beauties!

4 Likes

300 g whole wheat
300 g bread flourstrong text

500 g water
Autolyse 1 hour minimum
120 g starter
12 g salt
Mix well
Stretch and fold every 1/2 hr till good gluten forms …4 or 5 times… window pane test

Bulk rise 4 hours or so about 85 + degrees (in oven with light on)
Form and then fermented in fridge 20 hours
Pre heat oven and cast iron 1 hour
Baked at 500 def 20 min in Dutch oven
400 deg lid off to brown 10 - 15 min

Chewy crust and moist crumb. Great with butter

3 Likes

The first lockdown meant I started making my own pizza bases, moved to naan breads to accompany my Tarka Dahl but looking at some of these beauties I’ll be raising my game,

3 Likes

Nice loaf right there!

Now that’s a long proof! I can’t go this long without my loaves overflowing the basket!

Now we’re talking!

11 Likes

Please explain the process of doing a starter and maintenance.

2 Likes

Feed it, and then feed it some more!