New to TrainerRoad; Plan feature recommending “Breakthrough” rides only?

Hello all!

First post on the forum but I’ve been listening to the podcast for quite a few months now. Today will mark my 3rd TR workout. I’ve been focusing primarily on “Productive” workouts via the “Train Now” feature.

I decided to try the Plans feature, as it might be a more structured way to build my abilities on the bike. However, I was surprised to see that everything recommended is a minimum of level-4 workouts, which are in the “breakthrough” category for me.

I’m a 69kg rider with an FTP of 225 (tested two weeks ago).

Pretty much all of my progression levels are at 1.0 except Sweet Spit (1.8).

Are level 4 workouts a reasonable jump from level 1 or is the ML system giving me more than I can chew?

If I’m being a big pussy please call me out on it! Haha. This is my first dive in training after years of riding but I have to admit some of the suggested workouts look quite intimidating, like this one lol:

Thanks in advance!
Mike

1 Like

Probably best to start with an email to support@trainerroad.com so they can review this. Adaptive Training is still in beta, and could be doing something undesired. Or there could be a setting issue on your side that may be influencing things. They can check that all pretty quickly.

did you use plan builder to construct a base-build-specialty cycle or did you just pick a plan to start doing? this workout is from short power build and general build, so adaptive training won’t change the levels for you. As it stands, you won’t see any adaptations for either of these build plans

I tried looking at the base-build-specialty plans and all 3 recommended I do breakthrough workouts. I just looked at the “Plan Builder” and everything there also starts at level-4.

The plans are generic until you actually add them to your calendar I think. Go through plan builder, get the plans scheduled, then the workouts should adapt to your levels.

1 Like