Trust AI/ML ? All workouts are too easy!

Hey guys I’ve been using tr for about four years now, maybe longer. I’ve been using and trusting the AI coaching element since it was introduced and quite enjoy it. Makes the whole process so much easier and takes a lot of the guesswork out of the equation.
Or does it?? It will always suggest a new training ftp at the start of indoor season and it always sets it low enough that any ss workouts feel alarmingly easy! Using breath rate as an indicator I don’t feel I’m even remotely close to zone 2 (partial but not strained sentences etc) let alone sweet spot.
I rate the workout as easy (because it was) and I’m feeling I’m not getting what I should from tr as far as training response goes.
What say you? Any insight that will make me feel I’m on the right training path? I’m reluctant to manually set ftp cause I’ll never get it right lol!
Is a ramp test what I should do?
Great work your all doing btw!!

1 Like

When in doubt, test.

• You can use any test of your preference… be that the Ramp Test, 1x 20-min, 2x 8-min, Kolie Moore, 60-min, etc. There are pro’s con’s to any of those test options, but you’ll find someone who swears by at least one of them (and possibly swears AT the others :wink: ? ).

If the core of your issue comes from worry about AI FTP Detection accuracy for you, an actual FTP test of your choosing may be the best next step.

7 Likes

Does AI boost your FTP after base phase? How’s RPE for harder workouts (threshold, VO2 etc.)? I think each approach to figuring out your FTP has its challenges and they probably dependent on the individual.