Advice on 20 Min FTP test result v.s. AI Detection

Fellow riders, I just did my first 20 minutes FTP test earlier today. Ever since I started using TR (since 2 years ago), I have been doing only ramp tests and started using the AI detection since the beta testing days.

In the past 4 weeks, I’ve been able to finish 100% of my workouts (mainly SS with a day of VO2 Intervals every Tuesday). I’m on a medium volume plan (8-10 hrs a week).

My test result came out to be 200, which is lower than my before-test FTP of 206. I got curious and ran the AI FTP Detection and it predicted a score of 209. That’s quite a big difference. Unlike my ramp test results in the past, which typically just differ by 1 - 2 points.

I realize that I’m new to the 20 min test and might not have done a proper pacing. I’m interested in hearing from you guys who have more experience with doing the 20 mins test, and had a chance to compare the AI detection accuracy to the test results.

Thanks,
Richard

1 Like

It’s not a huge difference. You’ll have a normal day to day variation in threshold based on fatigue/freshness.

10 Likes

Pacing takes practice.

2 Likes

The difference is not that big, 4.5 %.

Most likely, you just have to get better at pacing specifically for the 20-minute test. That takes practice, unless you are regularly doing 20ish-minute efforts. Just that alone could explain the discrepancy.

You wrote that you have been using AI FTP and you have been able to complete all workouts. Then I suggest you just stick to AI FTP’s suggestion and continue your workouts. If you are able to finish all workouts as prescribed, just stick to AI FTP’s suggested FTP.

2 Likes

Stick with AI FTP for consistency, Adaptive Training will take care of the rest - the difference between a level 1 and level 10 SS workout is far greater than the difference between a 200 and 209W FTP.