Recovery Weeks in half distance Triathlon Plan

Hey there,

I am new to TR and I really like the concept.

I am on a Half Distance Triathlon Plan with Low volume.
From other training plans I usually had a recovery week every 4-6 weeks. However I am not able to find the recovery in the half distance tri plan. Every week has at least a sweet spot or sprint training scheduled.

So I was wondering if I missed something or if this is intentionally?

Thanks
Thomas

2 Likes

The half distance LV plan as it shows up for me has week 4 as a recovery week; keeping some intensity for recovery weeks isn’t unheard of…

1 Like

Thanks for the fast answer!

It’s just that I had expected to see a drop in TSS in those recovery weeks… (and being in the fourth week I had to significantly reduce the TSS to recover)

The run and swim volume is reduced. The bike actually jumps up about 40 TSS in the recovery week, which makes no logical sense to me. It’s the same pattern for the Low Vol Base, Low Vol Build and Low Vol Specialty Half Distance plans. I would love to have TR staff explain the reasoning behind that.

@IvyAudrain, any chance you know why the the bike part of the tri plans jumps up during recovery weeks? If you don’t, can you find out?

2 Likes

@IvyAudrain @Scheherazade @ThomasCologne

I looked more at the tri plans and it is definitely a pattern. I would really be interested in the reasoning for a bump up in cycling load during a recovery week. The running/swimming load does decrease in the recovery weeks.

Olympic:
Low Build Wk6 = + approx. 65 TSS in recovery week
Mid Build Wk6 = + 10 TSS in recovery week

Half:
Low Base Wk8 = + 50 TSS in recovery week
Low Build Wk4 = + 45 TSS in recovery week
Low Build Wk8 = + 15 TSS in recovery week
Low Specialty Wk4 = + 35 TSS in recovery week

Full:
Low Base Wk4 = + 30 TSS in recovery week
Low Base Wk8 = + 30 TSS in recovery week
Low Base Wk12 = + 150 TSS in recovery week
Low Build Wk4 = + 70 TSS in recovery week