Is my FTP set too high?

I’m new to trainer road and just started this week with a ramp test. My FTP was set at 240 and I set about my first weeks training. First workout I struggled but put that down to training at a new level. Today I was faced with Kaweah and 5x10mins in and around FTP and I blew up during the 3rd interval. So question is… is my FTP too high? Couple of considerations that may have influenced the ramp test. I was fresh having not trained on the 2 days previous and I was doing the ramp test on a wattbike and have done the subsequent workouts on my smart trainer. Appreciate your thoughts on this and in the meantime, have dropped my FTP manually to 220 for the next ride.

That’s your problem there, doing the test on a wattbike and training on a different trainer. you really need to do the FTP test using the trainer that you will be training on.

I had the same problem as you when I did the FTP test on a wattbike then transferred that to the trainer. In fact I have had to redo the FTP test when ever I have changed trainers / power meters.

5 Likes

It could simply be a difference in power measurement between the wattbike youndid the test on and your normal setup. Repeat the test on the setup you intend to train on so that everything is consistent. When the ftp level is set right sessions should often be hard but doable, and you’ll really progress through training plans. If it’s too high then sessions will feel horrible and you’ll fail to complete a lot of the time. Training should really stretch you, not break you

1 Like

Thanks Jamie - good shout, I’ll redo the ramp test on my smart trainer

1 Like

Thanks Paul… feeling broken not stretched after that session so I’ll redo the test and make sure the levels are right for my home setup

3 Likes