TR Noobies and Starting Advice

If this has been addressed in a previous podcast or forum post - please let me know!

I’m a bit of an amateur cyclist riding road and gravel for just over two years. I’ve done a few events and try to move up in the group rides to the faster set as a measuring stick… I’ve got a trainer and an okay pain cave setup (mostly on zwift). I’ve never done structured training and just signed up for TR and started a plan, have HRM and understand my HR zones, but no power outside of the trainer.

To be honest, a lot of the terminology in the app and the podcasts make my head spin. Can you do a block on a podcast that goes over how a noob can rapidly get up to speed with a plan and where best to go for consistent advice and other info?

1 Like

This blog might be a good place to start - Cycling Training Plan for Beginners: How to Start Training for New Cyclists - TrainerRoad Blog

I’ve been a nerd about endurance training for years as a runner so I kind of take some of the baseline knowledge and terms for granted.

I’ve been listening to the early Ask a Cycling Coach podcasts and even in those I’m not sure if there is a really good single episode that works as a beginner’s guide. That being said I’ve enjoyed listening to them and there is a lot of info to pick up there.

1 Like

TrainerRoad has a deep support site with plenty of great articles. I will link a few that may be useful here, but the broader site is worth browsing to see what it offers:

Another blog article worth a look, along with a category containing more articles worth a look:

If you are planning to ERG mode and new to it, this is a “must watch” video:

As is this one if you are using a Wahoo trainer in ERG:

3 Likes

Welcome!

@jiffylush and @mcneese.chad already linked a bunch of great resources for getting started, so we’d recommend taking a look through those!