Advice welcome re. being new to TR, but not being a "racer"!

Hi All, I’d welcome a little “getting started” advice… I’m new to Trainer Road and am keen and have chosen it as i’m keen to do more structured training, both to gain fitness and (ideally) drop a few kgs, alongside controlled diet. However, I’m in no way a racer! Rather my goals are around a 4day cycling trip in the Spring and a number of 100k or 100m sportives in the UK summer (sic.).
All the terminology around defining a programme appears to be around racing. Where should I start?

2 Likes

“Racing” is by no means required for great use of TR. There are many others here that don’t race, but use TR for general fitness or keeping up with friends in group rides. So you are in good company.

I would suggest using the Calendar, adding the events you know (again they don’t have to be races, any event is fine) and use the new Plan Builder to lay out the training plan for you.

If you are new to training and indoor training in particular, lean towards the lesser time, lower volume approach, since trainer work is much more focused and intense than most equal time outside.

4 Likes

A quick update a few weeks into my use of TrainerRoad. First off I’m really enjoying it!
However, I’d reiterate my initial statement that all the terminology is skewed towards riders who race. For example, here are the stated categorisation for Plan Builder:

Road Cyclists training for:

• Criteriums (=race!)
  • Rolling Road Races (=race!)
  • Climbing Road Races (=race!)
  • Time Trials (=race!)
  • Gran Fondos (=competition to get best position, if not ‘race’!)

The only option for me is “Gran Fondos”, but even then I interpret them to be far more competitive than a sportive.
In addition, the use of “A, B, C” events is very racing-specific.
I fully accept all of this is interpretive and TR can be tailored to my needs. But it does make me feel like the secondary audience for what is clearly a fantastic tool/product.