Poor recovery week - what to do next?

Hi everyone. I think this will be a simple question to answer with all of the collective experience here! I’m new to both TrainerRoad, and also cycling in general, so any help greatly appreciated!

I’ve got a ramp test at the end of SS base 2, as part of the large volume training plan, on Monday (day after tomorrow - I’m in the UK!) and I’ve read that SS base 2 is potentially where a lot of FTP gains are made…!

I’ve had a very poor recovery week where I’ve missed most of the workouts. I have one day (tomorrow - Sunday) where I know I can get a workout in.

My question is - how is it best to prepare for my ramp test please? :slight_smile:

If it helps, here’s some extra info. My week, Monday to Saturday;

Rest, brasstown (1:30), beech (1:00), rest, rest, rest

(please don’t judge me! Haha)

With one day left to workout, before the ramp test, which workout do you think can help prepare me most for the test please? I’m unsure whether to load myself up with lots of TSS, or would be more beneficial to do another style of workout?!

I’ve put lots of hours in for SS base 2, and I want to represent these through my Ramp Test as best as possible!

Also apologies if this has been covered elsewhere. I couldn’t find specific information to my enquiry, although I also struggle to enjoy the podcasts because I only ever get to read in my spare time, not listen. My wife wouldn’t appreciate me listening when she’s trying to watch the TV! So, again, apologies if I’ve missed this!!

Thanks everyone!

1 Like

Do the scheduled workout, get some good rest and do your ramp test. If you get a discouraging result you could test again later, that’s the beauty of the ramp test it doesn’t take days to recover from. Remember the whole point is just to set training zones.

2 Likes