How to work past an FTP plateau

Hi all,

I am 45 years old I have been doing structured cycling training for the past 3 years (no cycling experience before that) and have been following Trainerroad plans for the past 9 months or so… During this time my FTP has increased from ~245W to 330W (~2.5 to ~4W/kg)…

I have now hit a plateau and I am struggling to see further increases in my FTP… I have just finished a rolling road race HV plan (with SS, build, and specialty phases) and done 2 weeks of lower volume, less structured riding as a recovery…

I am now ready to start a new plan noting that I race in 14 weeks that I would like to perform well in…

My question is, what would be the best way to break through this FTP plateau?..

Based on how I feel during my workouts, I think I would be best served to do an HVSS plan (with workouts like Leavitt +2 etc) and increase the workout intensity overtime for the next 8 weeks or so (with a recovery week in the middle)… Then do a 4-week build and 2-3-week specialty phase to better prepare me for my race…

I have also started strength training 2 days a week to supplement my work on the bike to help me get over those short, sharp climbs and have more max power for sprinting at the end of a race… This seems to be working well…

What are other people’s experiences with breaking through plateaus?

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks,

Jack

I’m very similar age and FTP to you! A few thoughts:

1. With 3 years of consistent and structured training, you’ve likely already picked all the low hanging fruit. You might just find that from this point on FTP gains are few and far between, and it’s about adjusting your expectation to more incremental gains than you’ve seen so far
  2. There’s a lot more to cycling than FTP. Increasing time to exhaustion (TTE) at the same FTP could lead to significant improvement in longer races for example. Or working on improving repeatability of anaerobic efforts would improve your performance in crits