How to decide workout calendar after being out of training?

I did a pretty demanding outdoor group ride this Saturday that left me somewhat “crippled” (.9 IF for 4.25 hours) and frostbitten/injured. My zones for that ride:

I’m holding off on riding until Thursday. I am following SSB 1 LV, and I have the following workouts left: Warlow, Carillon, Tallac, and Palladise, plus the recovery week. I am new to structured training, and I have 3 options to decide between:

1. Treat this week as the recovery week, doing a recovery ride, and then doing an FTP test at the end of this week. After the test, just jump into SSB1, and straight into SSB2. I think I’ve made some gains since my first test as well, so that would either verify or break that claim.

2. Do everything as usual, pushing all the workouts back.

3. Switch the workout order so that I don’t do over unders (warlow) on Thursday.

4. Something else?

Anyone got any advice? I’m probably overanalyzing this, but I want to know what my options are.

Do you have any set goals coming up that your schedule is planned around?

If not, I’d probably push the rest of SSB LV I back by a week and inset 1-2 recovery rides before I tackled Warlow.

1 Like

Yes, some early races, but I just want to get as far into the program as I can before them.

You may need to ease yourself back into the hard workouts. Ideally you would have done a recovery ride on Tuesday instead of staying completely off the bike. Since you missed that, I’d probably say a more endurance ride on Thursday, then finish up the remainder of your SSB1 (adjust calendar workouts as necessary) and go into your SSB1 recovery week as scheduled.

TrainerRoad can and should be used up to and through your race season. So you don’t need to “get as far into the program” before your races and then just drop your TR training. You should look at your cycling and racing in the long term. You want to build your fitness throughout the season and year over year.