Experience with “Race Weight?”

Curious if anyone has mid-long term experience following the guidelines in Matt Fitzgerald’s “Racing Weight.” Ive had a few years of structured training under my belt, but am experiencing the following:

I’m a recent college grad, and completed SSBHV this past spring while doing school from home. In my attempt to lose about ten pounds to max out my W/kg, I ate high protein (130-150g/day) and moderate amount of carbs (probably 300g ish). I maintained a small deficit and lost the weight relatively easy without missing a workout. I put on some weight this summer as I couldn’t train much, but now I can and I find myself wanting to slowly get back down to my ideal weight (160lbs).

I now WFH, a similar low-ish stress environment with ample time to rest, train, and cook healthy meals. After reading Matt Fitzgerald’s “Racing Weight,” I drastically increased my carbohydrate intake to 400-500g/day based on his recommendation for training volume, and slightly reduced protein intake to the recommended 1.2g/kg of body weight.

To my surprise, I actually feel like the RPE on the trainer is higher, my HR is higher, motivation lower, and I’ve had to end a number of workouts early. I’m doing SSBHVI and of course did an FTP test at the start.
I’m wondering if anyone has experienced similar effects from slightly reduced protein intake? Also, 500g of quality carbs is a LOT. I only changed my diet a week ago, but feel like it’s impossible I’ll lose weight always being this full!

1 Like