Increased carb intake, improved training compliance, increased FTP and decreased bodyweight. n=1 results

Nearing end of November 2020 I finally got fed up with myself. I had been chasing the low carb idea for a few years with lots of heartache and quite nonexistant results.

Poor training compliance due to fatique and injury, weight creeping up and age (46) rolling in caused me to seek assistance with a local macros “consultant”. He made quick work of giving me numbers. 2412 calories, 285g carbs, 174g protein, 64g fat. I have been following this regime since and couldn’t be happier with the results. I am not a “macro nazi” in any sense. I weigh my food most of the time and aim to be within +/- 5 gr for each nutrient most of the time. On hard days i shoot over in carbs to compensate.

I follow a low volume training plan, with an added Pettit or Beech pr week. I have never been as compliant as now and even the toughest V02 max workouts seem not only doable, but fun. I look forward to my training now, which is new. With summer nearing I expect the added volume that comes with outdoor rides will be a breeze.

I also recover much faster than before, which is a nice surprise as I thought my age was starting to affect my recovery speed negatively (which is probably is, but not as serously as I thought).

My FTP has gone up by 7ish % since November as well.

I weigh in daily with my Tanita. The data speaks for itself.

Yay me!

29 Likes

This is a great example of not fighting your body, but rather trying to partner with it, to create fitness.
Kudos!

6 Likes

Bravo. When i got myself disciplined, I too saw results like this. When i fall out of eating discipline I find my workouts are harder and my overall life is more difficult. Let the success be the reinforcement you need to stay the course!

2 Likes

Love this, great job and way to see the benefits of knowing what you eat, when to eat and how to fuel for training!