TrainNow Oversight? [Feature Request]

I’m an engineer and love the idea of using data to suggest a workout for a day that there’s no training plan workout. From what I can see, the algorithm seems to be suggesting workouts based exclusively on past workouts. I’ve received suggestions for very demanding workouts if the most recent workouts were endurance-based. It doesn’t seem like the suggestions look at future workouts. Oftentimes suggesting aggressive workouts the day before a demanding workout is scheduled via my plan. Shouldn’t the algorithm look at what’s scheduled in the next week in addition to recent workouts before suggesting a TrainNow workout?

2 Likes

I thought this too when playing around with it and already having a TR RXed plan. It would be nice feature to have for those of us that would like to be on a low+ or mid+ type plan when we get the extra time for an extra workout.

2 Likes

well, the point of trainnow isn’t to look ahead, really, as it’s intended to use when folks don’t have a training plan going. I see what you mean, especially to fill in lower volume plans, but I guess some discretion is required to pick a workout that won’t interfere with future scheduled stuff

3 Likes

TrainNow is not really meant to “work with plans”.

It is more an alternative to a training plan, not a supplement.

I am looking for the official info and will link when I find it.

• This is not “official”, but I think I have a decent summary based upon what they have said on the podcast and here.
3 Likes

Indeed. I’m on a low volume polarized plan now. I like the low volume as it gives me plenty of room to free ride outdoors on the mountain bike when weather and time allows. The TrainNow is a great feature for coming up with an indoor workout on the days I can’t get out.

1 Like

@mcneese.chad

I found this blog and it actually touches on the fact that TrainNow is meant to supplement low volume plans

1 Like