TR+Zwift: It Works!

I’m 60, started cycling about 9 years ago. I’ve never done structured training before but I do log close to 10,000 miles a year, mostly outside, Road, Gravel, and MTB. And wasn’t getting any faster.

I started doing my weekday rides on my trainer a few weeks ago, saving the long/endurance rides for Saturday. GAME CHANGER. Safer, immune to weather, more convenient, and better training. The wife is happier too with me in the garage, not out on a road miles from home.

The image shows last week’s rides. I use TrainerRoad’s Adaptive Training plans, concurrently with Zwift’s amazing immersive visuals. Great combo. I use an old original KICKR with an old beater alum Motobecane stripped-down bike (no brakes, no front derailleur, one 48T oval chainring 48T, 11sped cassette 11-28) that I dedicate to indoor use. And it works perfectly. Workouts are in ERG mode but sometimes I switch to Resistance mode during the cooldowns when I want more watts… and since this isn’t a climbing gear ratio, I set TR to about 70%, and then it feels like my IRL climbing bike on the steeps.

Anyway, just some ideas in case this helps anyone think about their 2022 approach to staying healthy and fit.

MERRY CHRISTMAS. Hammer On!

21 Likes

Oh I like that screen setup! How do you get the three TR information zones arranged like that (overall graph, stats and current interval)? Are you running windows versions of Zwift and TR, both windowed and both using bluetooth for the trainer?

I’ve tried running TR on a phone and Zwift on a laptop, but I keep missing the TR workout text - I can’t quite make out where that would display for you?

There are different ways to use them at the same time, check out this recent thread here: TR workouts on Zwift

The workout text is displayed over the other apps while TR is minimized.

3 Likes