Trainer Road outside workouts inside whilst Zwifting!

I wanted to complete the Zwift Haute Route, but also had a 1hr 30min TR ride on Saturday. Had a brain wave which worked absolutely fine and I think I’ll do it again. The Zwift ride was up Alpe du Zwift and the TR plan was 5x10mins sweetspot.

So I sent the TR schedule as an “outside” ride to my Garmin, then fired up Zwift as usual and rode Zwift whilst also doing the TR schedule as planned!

Clearly I had to match the power output to what TR wanted as Zwift was controlling the trainer, but up the Alpe that was fairly easy to do by varying cadence and gears!

2 Likes

Yup I’ve been doing this now for 4 months, works like a charm. Only downside is when you go to your career it doesn’t show it as TR workout which sucks because I like stats :sweat_smile:

1 Like

I do it as well but I don’t do it as an outside workout. Is there a difference?

Been doing this as well. I follow my TR workouts and have Zwift set without a controllable power source. That way if TR says an interval of 250W, that’s what you do, regardless of Zwift terrain.

3 Likes

Yeah I do this too. TrainerRoad on my phone in control of my tacx neo, and my quarq paired to zwift on AppleTV. There’s a bit of an offset between the two that powermatch would normally take care of, but in this case I just adjust the % on TrainerRoad until my quarq is reading the correct interval power.

Same here. I start Zwift first, but I don’t think it really matters. I pair everything in Zwift then deselect “controllable.” Setup your world and route as usual. I pair to Zwift using Ant+ since BlueTooth is stronger for my setup.

Next I open TR, select the workout, and then pair sensors.