Tough old week - gubbed

Hi guys,

New to the forum and looking for some reassurance/advice.

I started training a few months ago (after a year of fair-weather riding) and up until now I’ve had it all very much my own way. Having completed mid-volume SSB1 and 2 without much issue I’m in the midst of the general build just now and having a tough old time of it - a situation I think I’ve managed to inflict on myself.

My midpoint ramp test was 297 and not being without ego I couldn’t help but nudge that up to 300. I took the test last week and since then I’ve had not the most ideal prep over the weekend due to some friends leaving town and all the activities associated with this.

I got through Bays +1 fine but then Dade +4 (VO2 max) arrived and messed me up big time. I managed 4 of the intervals at 100% and the rest at 95% but I was not a well man by the finish. I subsequently had a rest day and then attempted Mount Goode (threshold) yesterday: making it two-thirds of the way through the first interval before dropping down to 90% in order to get through it. For the second interval I tried to keep going at 95%, making it quarter of the way through, but felt really poor so decided to just bail from the workout entirely. After this I adjusted my FTP, knocking it down to 295, and today completed NorthPack but stopped multiple times throughout and again dropped the intensity to 95% halfway through the workout.

I’m feeling pretty discouraged at the moment. I assume it’s just fatigue, which feels a little bit more psychological than anything but would appreciate some advice on how to proceed. Should I stick at 295 and see how I go next week? Knock my FTP down a little bit more? Retire immediately?

Any and all advice/anecdotes gratefully received.

Cheers,

K

1 Like