Should I See More Gains?

I’m sure this has been discussed constantly but, more of a venting opportunity.

I have been riding for 10 years, I’m 37 years old, 5’8” and weigh 145lbs and male. My friends and I love to ride hard and long throughout the year and I love to climb. We do our local Tuesday night crust and Wednesday XC races during the summer. I’ve been on TR for a year consistently and love it. I started out with an FTP of 199 in Jan 2019. Over the course of the year I got it up to 220, I felt my fitness was getting much better as I was able to hold wheels and drop my friends on the climbs around here. (We are all pretty great climbers). I took some time off in Nov from the trainer but still have been riding outside. I started back up with SSBLV1 in Dec and have moved onto Build (per the plan creator, I have a race Jan 25). My ramp test on Dec 1 was 195 and yesterday it was 203, that’s a good increase for 1 month back on the trainer. I just feel like I’m not seeing the gains I should be after a year of following the TR plans pretty diligently. Maybe I’m a smaller guys so my FTP can’t get as high? I’m averaging 6-7hr/week, is this too little? My friends don’t do any structured training and I feel they are always just a bit more in shape then I am.

I have a Cycleops dumb trainer with a Stages power meter. Should I invest in a smart trainer like a Wahoo KICKR or Elite Direto? I feel like I shouldn’t be hovering around an FTP of 200-220. That feels low for riding 333 hours this year.

Maybe I need keep grinding and I’ll see more gains this year. I’m expecting a baby in May so there will definitely be a hiccup in my training in the summer.

Thanks for reading.

1 Like