FTP Gains Slowing - Is that expected this soon?

Hi,

I’m a TrainerRoad subscriber training towards my goals of building enough fitness to join local “A” group rides and possibly try competitive events in the future. I’ve been cycling for 2 years now, but only started seriously training with TR back in June 2023 on a general low volume plan. I came in with a 224 watt ftp, and managed to progress that to 246 by September, when life issues happened and I wound up abandoning the plan.

I decided to try again in late November, this time on a rolling road race mid volume plan - starting from 231, I had an immediate jump back up to 243, but since then my gains have been rather slow, and each new month shows fewer watts gained each time. I’m currently at 265 watts, with my most recent AI FTP detection only showing a 6 watt increase for the month. I have just started my “build” phase.

I realize that I shouldn’t be complaining as I’m still making gains, but I figured I would have more “newbie gains” in me before I tapered off this hard, especially on mid volume. My plan compliance has been good in my opinion - I have missed very few workouts and haven’t failed a single one.

I’m a 31 year old, tall and skinny guy at 6’7" and have gone from 175 to 181 lbs over the course of the plan, making sure I’m eating at a surplus with lots of protein. My recovery is also solid and the new red light/green light is showing that I respect my yellow/red days.

Any ideas for what could be happening, or is this just expected tapering for normal mortals? I’ve seen so many posts about people starting from off the couch, especially bigger guys like me, and hitting 300+ FTPs in half a year of training, and while I know not to compare numbers to randoms on the internet, its still making me wonder if I’m messing up somewhere.

Thanks!

2 Likes

If you turn this forum upside down you’ll read one word: consistency.