Should I go Base: Low Volume or Mid Volume?

Hello!

I’m new to TR and I do have some question regarding which plan to choose, I’ve tried structured training before (on other platforms) and this is one of my common issues when it comes to structured based training and that’s the option given doesn’t seem to fit my schedule?

So TR Base gives:
Low Volume: Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday (3 days of riding a week)
Mid Volume: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday (5 days of riding a week)

Problem is, my usual weekly riding schedule or I’m allowed to are:
Monday, Tuesday, (Wednesday on alternate weeks), Thursday, Saturday (long ride; 2-3 hours or more)

On weekdays, ideally would be 1 hour and max is 1.30 hours.

I feel if I choose Mid Volume, it’ll be too much whereas Low Volume will be too little. So which should I pick or should I adjust the plan by adding/removing workout sessions?

Also, in the event of missing a session due to life, do you just pass it or replace it on another day?

Thanks!

Do low volume then add rides if you need more. Yes, just adjust the plan to for your schedule, it’s easy to do with the calendar.

If you can bump your schedule a day and make up the workouts do that. If you’re too busy just skip that workout and adjust the week to fit.

7 Likes

I have recently switch from Low to an ‘adapted’ mid volume plan. I know that most weeks I can probably get 4 rides in but certainly not 5. So I added the Mid volume plan to my calendar and then I deleted one of the additional rides compared to the low volume plan. Initially I kept the sweet spot ride however I recently decided to give 80/20 training a try so now I keep the the endurance ride and dropped the additional sweetspot ride. The calendar allows you easily drag and drop the training to the days that you want. I often have to rearrange training around the time I have in the week as my work travel schedule is very changeable

3 Likes