Plan Builder for Masters Age Athletes [Feature Request]

I’m relatively new to TR. 54 and looking to train for 2021 masters race season.
I have had a play with the plan builder but it looks as though it gives me a plan that is for a young man. I have found that I now need to have a 3 week on, 1 week recovery plan
I also need to put in some weight sessions
The plan builder is not going to work for me, is it?

13 Likes

It will, up to a point. Do you use something to track, and predict, a PMC, so a self devised spreadsheet or intervals ICU where you can pre load sessions and see what your TSB etc is going to do?
Intervals.icu is perfect for this tbh as you can sync your TrainerRoad calendar to it and see how much of a hole you are going to dig for yourself into the future.

No, PB is not great for modifying schedules for most reasons, and “masters” type approach is included in that limitation.

Other riders like to stretch the weeks to add more recovery between a more “standard” 3:1 type of schedule. They look at the “hard” workouts of the week and lean to more Polarized approach or other changes to workout spacing.

Here is a search list with some “Masters Plan” discussion that may be worth review:

14 Likes

Getting ready for hitting your new 55-59 age group next year?!

Nearly all the TR cycling plans have a 3:1 work:recovery ratio. I think the only exception is Sweetspot Base which is 5:1. And which actually works OK that way as the whole point of Sweetspot is that it’s at an intensity which isn’t burying you too deep. If you haven’t tried TR SS training before you may be surprised. Or you can go with Traditional Base which is 3:1? Or just manually spread the 12 week SSB plans over 13 weeks and then start Plan Builder from the Build phase?