Incorporating yoga into your training

Hi everyone,
I am ridiculously inflexible, I’m thinking about incorporating a bit of yoga into my training to help with this.

Anyone got any good resources to suggest for a complete beginner? Something like a youtube video series specifically good for a triathlete/ cyclist?

Cheers

I recently heard about this resource on the Matt Dixon podcast, but haven’t had chance to try it yet:

Here was the podcast episode if you’re interested:
https://purplepatchfitness.com/education/podcasts/s1-e24-erin-taylor-jasyoga-integrating-yoga-endurance-sports

3 Likes

I like this app & use it each Saturday.

Simply Yoga - Fitness Trainer by Daily Workout Apps, LLC

I’m thiking about it of this too.

Sufferfest has some good yoga videos that I have been using for a while now. My flexibility and core strength have improved greatly resulting in a lot more comfort on the bicycle using their videos.

On a Windows based machine you can use the X Box app to record the screen;)

1 Like

I had a back injury a year ago due to inflexibility and started yoga as part of my rehabilitation. I have now been doing it for 11months and my core strength and flexibility have improved massively.

One thing I would recommend though is going to some classes when first starting out as most of us will not position ourselves correctly at the beginning and just following an online video will not necessarily garner the improvements you are looking for. I still get adjusted when in a class and the benefits realised from doing it right are huge as well as making sure you don’t injure yourself in the process.

2 Likes

I do this 20 minute routine on my rest days:

13 Likes

Abi Carver has done many videos for mountain bikers. But they will work for any athlete. What I really like is they are relatively short at 15 min each. You can find some on youtube. She has a website called yoga15.com.

4 Likes