How might I adapt the mid-volume short power build plan to fit weekly races?

So i’m brand new to trainerroad, and am looking to increase FTP as well as short power (for things such as criteriums), so the mid-volume short power plan looks pretty good. My question is this: I do a weekly training crit every wednesday, so what would be the ideal workout to swap for that crit? In that plan most of the workouts are high intensity, so i guess i’m looking to see if there’s a best fit to swap for a weekly crit.

There’s a GCN video where Matt Stephens describes how he used to fit in weekly training - including a race - around work. Like so:

Maybe you could alter the plan to fit something like that? Obviously shift things forward / back a few days as your crit is Wednesday not Sunday. But pack the harder sessions closer together so you recover a little more for the crit. Maybe something like…

Thurs - rest day
Fri - Tues session from plan
Sat - Sunday session from plan
Sun - Thursday or Saturday session from plan
Mon - rest
Tue - Wednesday session from plan
Wed - crit

Whether you choose Thursday or Saturday session to swap out would depend on the TSS of the crit; which workout is the closest match.

2 Likes

Just swap out one of the interval days for your race crit and adjust the plan accordingly.

1 Like

If you’re combining with racing and maybe some other outdoor riding, can make more sense going with low volume plan instead of mid.

In terms of which of the key 3 workouts to drop, I would do one of the following:

1. Do the crit first, look at the time in zones, then the following week drop whichever session is the closest match. Might vary by week depending on whether you get in a break, wait for the sprint, etc
  2. Rotate which session you skip by looking at the 3 week block in its total. E.g. Across the 3 weeks you might skip one VO2, one anaerobic, one sprint