How difficult should this be?

Hello everybody.

I am quite new to cycling seriously and TrainerRoad (3 months and 1 week respectively) and I have some concerns about the workouts being too easy. I am about 100kg w/ ftp of 225 (trainerroad ramp test) and I am doing the mid volume training plan for “rolling hills” race. I’ve only completed the first two workouts, but I am not at all fatigued. Before starting TrainerRoad I was doing about 6-8 hrs a week at an average of about 160-180 watts? Or a bit higher. I like to cover routes as quickly as possible, so I usually get home pretty cooked. Not sure as this number is based on Strava estimates.
Should I retest my ftp? Should I just deal with it because base training is meant to start easy? Should I up the intensity percentage? I’m hesitant on this last one, just feels like a proper ftp Test should result in the right plan, so why mess with it?
Anyway, I would really appreciate some feedback as I don’t want to waste my time under training.
Thanks for your time.

Chris

I would give it a week or 3. If it is still easy at that point, then retest. I suspect you may find it creeps up on you.

What is your setup? Give it time as a couple workouts is not enough to gauge. If too easy raise the intensity during.

Also clarify where you are at. You say 3 months on TR but only 2 workouts. Which one is it??

Welcome. The more information you can give us, the better.

Have you started with a base phase or did you use plan builder?

You shouldn’t be fatigued after 2 workouts. The plans get harder as you progress through them.

@ericallenboyd

I do think he’s clear, tbf

1 Like

It can take a few FTP tests to learn how to dig deep to get all you can out of yourself. I know this was the case for me, and I suspect one reason people see such big gains early on.