Why does every workout feel easy? UPDATED

Hello all, I apologize if this has been covered. I searched for a while and can’t find anything specific.
I am rather new to very structured training. My structured training usually involves going as hard as i can on climbs, and recovering on the descents, group rides that often turn to races, etc.

I feel like every single workout on Trainer Road that I have done so far has been too easy. I even looked into the future and I barely see any that push me above my FTP. Is this because I know nothing about structured training? I am barely breaking a sweat and its driving me nuts! I wanna get strong and burn some calories.

Any advice is helpful! I absolutely love the idea of this entire thing, but need some convincing, or maybe some help as to what I am doing wrong? Thanks!

UPDATE! It was a bad test! i tested again, and now im concerned I wont be able to finish my workouts! Thanks for all the help!

What workouts are you doing? Are you running a training plan? What’s your FTP? How did you measure your FTP? When did you measure your FTP last? What trainer are you using? Is it calibrated?

Too many unknowns right now to give any answer.

I started a training plan, a climbing on to be specific, but think I am going to enter my target events to hopefully help.

I did an FTP test the very first day I set up my account. I do feel like it is a little low… but havent done a real test for a long time. My Garmin randomly tells me what it thinks my FTP is durring the summer and it is much higher, but I dont know if I can trust it. For reference, TR ramp test told me i am 265, and garmin has me around 300.

I have an early 2017 Wahoo KICKR that I calibrate quite often.

Great questions with more to consider:

Was it your first ramp test? Sounds to me like you maybe didn’t have the best test.

You could try and test again or just increase the workout intensity 5-10% and see how that feels (left lower corner in the workout window).