Garmin sync resulting in double weekly stats

I’m brand new to TR - last week was my first with the program. I synced my Garmin Connect account when I first created my TR account, but I record all of my workouts on my Garmin head unit (for redundancy as well as more accurate time/distance because I occasionally have longer warm-ups or cool-downs than my TR workout prescribes). However, TR syncs my ride from my head unit in addition to the workout I completed, which is resulting in roughly double the weekly hours and TSS score on my training calendar.

Here is an example from one day last week:
TR_screenshot

My main concern is this: does TR see that I’m going way over the prescribed hours/TSS and adjusting all of my future workouts based on those inaccurate numbers? I’d love to be able to account for any extra time I have on the bike each week without the numbers being way off, but I’m not sure how to go about that unless I stop recording during my TR workouts on my head unit and only record anything before/after.

If the double recording is affecting my prescribed workouts, I assume my only options to prevent this are A) un-sync Garmin Connect, or B) stop dual recording during my TR workouts? Thank you for any guidance. Loving TR so far!

Nope!
Your adaptations are based upon the compliance of your TrainerRoad associated workouts. Once we account for unstructured rides in the future though, those 'morning ride’s will be accounted for and you would receive adaptations for both activities.

Check in with support@trainerroad.com to make sure you’re properly syncing and associating those workouts correctly to prevent that duplicate issue. They’ll be happy to help!

1 Like

In the past I was dual-recording, and setup the following sync options:

• disable Garmin Connect to TrainerRoad
  • Garmin Connect syncs to Strava
  • Strava syncs to TrainerRoad