Gap Training Advice for Barry Roubaix

So I decided this is the year for long gravel races. I am currently signed up for the Michigan Barry Roubaix Psycho Kill 100mi/6800ft race on April 13, and the Michigan Coast to Coast 210mi race on June 22nd. I started training in June and have finished both sweet spots and I am currently nearly completion of the Sustained Power Build program. Unfortunately it leaves me with 4 weeks before the first race and no plan.

I am trying to decide to I start the Century program and try and finish half of it? or Some other program to start that would have a better taper before the race? As an FYI I am new to these long distance rides, my longest prior was 62mi. My goals are really just to finish and not get left behind by my group.

Does anyone have advice?

The Barry Roubaix is a well run race. You’ll have a blast. Either the rrolling road race or the century plan would work. Because the road conditions can be rough and sticky if wet you will need to draw on some power to make the accelerations. I would personally do the rolling road race to prep for Barry and then start substitung in some of the Longer interval rides from the century plan as you prep for the coast to coast. Good luck.

1 Like

The Barry Roubaix is punchy as hell. If you think you’re just in for a long sweet spot effort, you’re wrong.

About 6 miles in you hit a climb called the “Three Sisters” – it is the first, and main selection of the race. It’s only about a 5 minute climb, but it’s steep. If it’s wet, it’s like riding uphill in peanut butter.

There are other selective hills, but the “A” group will form after that hill. And if you’re not with them you’ll never see them again.

There are a ton of other punchy hills that will drop people – and there are some pea soup sections that you will have to gut through on V02 levels where everyone will attack.