Why is my ramp test so low?

A little bit of background on me. I’m a 23 year old female. I’ve been doing structured training for 2 years now in the winter and just enjoying riding out in the summer (winter is like at least 6-7 months in Iceland). I used to do the 20 min FTP test and got good results.
10th December 2019 my ftp was 204w according to 20 min test, I was following a structured training but not Trainerroad. My trainer is Tacx Neo 2T so pretty accurate.

7 Weeks ago I decided to try Trainerroad. I’ve done the ramp test twice now 6 weeks apart. At the start of ssb1 mv. Tested 189w, I did try the workouts at that FTP but felt they were too easy so I increase my FTP to 195 and then 200. and now at the start of ssb2 mv I tested at 190w. I’ve been sick twice since the 20 min test in december so maybe I’ve lost a little fittness (was sick for a week beetween week 4 and 5 in ssb1 mv. After the second ramp test I did Ebbets at 200w and felt the FTP was about right.

Question is why is my ramp test so low? Am I just one of those that it doesn’t work for?

The ramp test is an open ended test, and as such - some people are not very good at them.
If the 20min test works for you - stick with it

1 Like

Sounds like you’re already aware that some people suit the ramp test better than others so there’s not really much more that can be said. Search the forum and you will find tonnes of threads of people unhappy with their ramp test result.

I’d suggest you stick with your 20 min tests from now on

1 Like

Guess I just really wanted the ramp test to work for me. Seamed like a good alternative to the 20 min test where you have to do a hard warm up and then suffer for 20 mins.

1 Like