What To Do When You Cant’t Finish A Workout

I’m new to Trainer Road. I started the SSB HV 1 plan a couple weeks ago and find myself struggling to finish the second 2hr SS workout on back-to-back 2hr workout days.

The way I see it, My options are: 1) reduce the workout intensity and finish the workout, but at the lower intensity I’m not sure I’m getting the intended workout benefit, 2) call it quits at 75% complete (which is what I usually make it to on that 2nd workout) and use the extra time to rest and recover and hopefully come back stronger then next week.

Alternatively I could swap to a shorter workout on that second day and try to increase it over time… but my concern is that I’ll perpetually be struggling to finish that workout as my FTP (hopefully) increases.

My objective at this point is only to increase fitness and raise my FTP (i.e. speed and endurance) to be as competitive as possible when I start to race next summer.

Any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

2 Likes

I would HIGHLY encourage you to step back to Mid Volume or Low Volume and add as you feel good. High volume is TOUGH. I initially made the mistake of thinking “yea i have this much time to commit per week” but just because you have the free time doesn’t mean your body has the ability.

9 Likes

DING DING DING!!!

You can always ADD to the plan. But TR has repeatedly stated their data shows once folks start cutting rides, compliance / completion of a plan falls off significantly.

5 Likes

THIS.
Often people can get through 2, maybe 3 weeks of HV plans and then the implosion occurs. It’s a lot of stress from indoor training, and it’s not the same as TSS from outdoor riding.
Dial down to MV, recover, and then add either through extended cool down, or +1/+2 variants to the existing workouts in MV.
Having base be this hard, this early into the off-season is just going to lead to burnout long before next season even begins.

2 Likes