Two Beginner Questions: How long between plans and Adjusting FTP mid-plan

I’m new to any sort of structured cycling training. TR has definitely been eye-opening and even fun.

I’ve got two workouts left in Sweet Spot Base I. Should I go straight into Sweet Spot Base II, or is there some amount of planned rest between plans? I searched the forum and couldn’t find an answer.

Also, as I went through SSB I, I noticed that the workouts were getting “easier.” I also noticed that my heart rate was not getting as high during many of them. Is this because I’m improving, or is this just part of the training plan? If it’s the first (I’m hoping it’s the first), should I adjust my FTP up when it starts to feel like this?

Thanks for the help!

Will

Yes, go straight in. You will see that the last week in SSB1 is a reduced time and is intended as a recovery week, to prep for the SSB2 start.

You can see this and much more useful info in the Training plan bage under the “+ Week Tips” section. The info is accessible on the main Training Plans page,

as well as the notes at the start of each week for your plan on your calendar,

Depending on your training history, you may well be improving. If you think you are not being challenged enough for a given workout, you can increase the Workout Intensity setting to see how it goes. If that goes well, you can manually adjust your FTP in the main app/site setting.

Be cautions about this because the SSB1 is a relatively friendly (easy it too strong of a word), and you need to be ready for more challenging work that comes in SSB2.

Thanks, Chad. I’ll see how SSB II goes before making any adjustments.

And I should’ve noticed the notes. Up to this point, I’ve been focused on getting the workouts done and have been paying less attention to the accompanying education. I need to do better with that.

Will

1 Like