Training for an event that is no longer happening

Hi all, First post here, having been loving TR now for nearly 6 months.

A quick bit of background; 47 years old, I’ve been running for about 5 years, used to cycle a bit but not for a decade or so, novice swimmer. Decided to get into Triathlon to improve my swimming, and mix up my workouts (so not just running), and have been training pretty hard towards a half ironman in September for around 6 months now. During that time my FTP (ramp test) has improved from 154 to 251, following a 6 week plan on Zwift before moving over to TR sweet spot base, then half distance low volume base 1 and 2, with build starting last week. All good so far, and I have really felt my cycling improving, and have rarely if ever missed a session, or my targets within a session.

My current issue is that I have just had my first “bad week”. Not sure entirely why, maybe due to an infected finger I currently have, but I really struggled through the ramp test to start the build phase (lower than the result at start of last block - didn’t update FTP), and almost didn’t complete the following session (shortoff +1). No great drama, I will just push the plan back a week and take a few days off, but it did make me stop to consider whether or not I should update the plan I am currently following, given that it is targeted towards two events that will no longer happen due to the current situation (an Olympic distance in a month, and the HIM in 4 months). So I guess all of that is a rambling precursor to the question: Is it worth continuing with build/specialty phases now, with no particular goal in sight, or should I drop back to the base phases again just to keep me ticking over for the rest of the year? Are there any benefits to working through a build/speciality now, or am I better served by continuing to work on my base? I anticipate that I may end up doing my first event in Spring of 2021.

thanks!