Stalled weight loss

Hi all. I have been using TR for about 4 months now and have had a 30W FTP increase. My height is 5ft 8, and I weight 73kg. My target weight is 68-70kg. I’m currently half-way through TR build phase, on a medium volume plan. I track my nutrition accurately with Myfitnesspal and have a consistent daily calorie deficit of 500 calories. My macros are 30 Carbs/30 Protein/35 Fat as I find that I’m quite sensitive to carbs while trying to lose weight. I increase my carb intake on TR workout days, and keep the bulk of my carb intake to before and during my workouts (I intake carbs during workouts of durations over 1 hour Sweetspot/ VO2 Max).

I have noticed that my weight loss has stalled over the last couple of months, and won’t budge from 73kg. I don’t want to cut my daily calories any further for fear of losing muscle.

Any suggestions on how to kickstart my weight loss again would be much appreciated. Cheers

1 Like

Stress due to workouts. Keep on doing what you are doing. Also I am assuming you are tracking/weighing everything.

2 Likes

Perhaps do a week with no calorie deficit, a surplus even. It may let your body know that you will continue feeding it so it doesn’t need to be in survival mode and lower metabolism. Get that fire burning again.

4 Likes

I’ve also been tracking calories. Increasing protein and carbs and decreasing fat has moved the needle for me again in the right direction.

The interesting thing is that while eating the same amount of calories, I was starving after I exchanged some fat calories for carb calories.

I got this idea by reading the P.E. Diet book. It’s an interesting book. The author, Ted Naiman, has a lot of videos on youtube. He usually advocates low carb but he said something interesting in a video I saw - that low fat / higher carb also works for weight loss. I thought I’d try lower fat / higher carb since low carb eating is at odds with training and cycling.

2 Likes