Road cycling event x training plan

Hey TR community,
I have been using TR for about 4 -5months and my FTP increased 29% since then (167w to 215w or 2.3w/kg to 3.36w/kg).
I am pleased with the result.
For 2024, I would like to join races/event but I am not sure where can I start as a solo rider without local community. I have never done an actual race before.
I am located at east coast NJ. I found an event call Suarez Gran Fondo National Series and the website introduction seems that the event is good, but I am not sure.
Does anyone know about this event? if yes, how is it? what is your experience?
Is there other road cycling event that is recommend for east coast?

Second part of question:
If I would like to participate in this Fondo, how should my training plan look like beginning today? I was just doing traditional base training before to get my general status up. If I would target the fondo, they host at 2024 September (and many fondo events from this seires before it with frequency of 1 event per month or every other month), it will be a long time until then. How should I structure my plan to optimize my performance for this series of event?

Thank you all. I appreciated having this cycling community.

1 Like

Hey there and welcome to the TR community!

I haven’t personally done the Suarez Gran Fondo National Series, but it looks like a great series to hop into!

It looks like the Highlands Fondo in NJ is June 2nd, 2024. Ideally, you’d want to get through a full cycle of Base → Build → Specialty before that event, which will usually take about 5-6 months to complete. If you wanted to target the fondo in September, you’d have to push that full cycle back a little.

Fortunately, we have Plan Builder as part of TrainerRoad, which takes care of laying out your training plan for you. :slight_smile: