Ramp test - The FTP suggested seems very very low

Hello. Today was my first training session on TR, and I started with a Ramp Test, and I am a little confused for the result, let me explain. I have been training and riding seriously for around five years, and my FTP (without very well consistency in training) was around 275-280 W. Since one year and a half, I have not been training at all, not cycling or any other sport. I used to weigh around 63-64 kgs when I was fit, and not 70 kgs.

I did the test. I did no expect a high number but not that number that low. It was 163 W. I doubt that it might be because after the blown up, I went on riding and I have the doubt that the system might consider the time I went on riding as part of the FTP calculation. Here you can see an image to make it clearer.

The last minute was around 218 W, and later I went on without marking that the FTP was ended because I thought it would finish the session and I wanted to recover a little bit.

Can it be because of that or it is my FTP that low?

No it has used your full power power, 218x0,75 is about 163.
The ridning after did not affect the result

Edit: we’ve all made the misstanke of hitting the wrong button.

Since you had a year and half of nothing I wouldn’t worry about it. Just start riding again. Your FTP will probably come up very fast.

4 Likes

It’s likely accurate, your max heart rate hitting 199 shows you pushed hard. Time is cruel, I had a month off and dropped 304 to 268, then a fall, and honestly that tipped me into needing (mentally more then anything, I totally lost my motivation) to step away so a further three months totally off, and I dropped from 268 to 217.

Been back on the plans since beginning of Feb, and only now starting to feel and see the changes that remind me of last year, and I’m back up to 264 as of Tuesday.

It’s hard mentally pulling back up to your old stats. So just be kind to yourself.