FTP correct after Ramp test?

Hi everyone, I’m new to cycling and have just got onboard with TR so sorry if this is a stupid question…

I completed a ramp test last week which showed my FTP at 166.

I completed the Goddard-4 (sweet spot) workout today and the first bit was fine, but the last two sustained intervals expect you to stay just below your FTP for approx 5 mins, at which point my HR went upto 180 (I’m 37) resulting in me having to stop during the last interval.

Is this normal? I was under the impression that SS training was meant to keep your HR at a sustainable level but this felt like a drawn out vo2 effort to me.

Shall I lower my FTP or do a different fitness test?

Your thoughts would be much appreciated!

1 Like

How much training history do you have with your power meter? If not a lot, you could reassess in 2 weeks I think when AI FTP can give you a better number.

I’d roll with what you have for now, I suspect you’re pretty new to training in general and I think you might come around pretty quickly to the workloads. Until you get a better feel for training, instead of ending the workout early, just do easy recovery watts instead.

Thanks for the advice I appreciate it

Not alot on the trainer, only stated a few weeks ago. I’ve almost exclusively been lifting weights for 15 years hence the poor aerobic fitness so maybe just a case of sticking with it until I acclimatise as you said…

Based on this info I would suggest using a slightly lower FTP than the one that the ramp test indicate. Weight lifting tend to favor anaerobic capacity and combined with under developed aerobic capabilities longer intervals can be challenging. There is no shame in being conservative in the beginning. AI will push you soon enough anyway.

1 Like

This seems to fit with my experience thanks. I’m not too bad on the sprints but sustained efforts I’m really bad on. I suppose this is what you get from doing only anaerobic exercise for years…

+1 on that!