Protein for weight loss

Was going back through the blog for the recent protein deep dive and it struck me that they kept saying the recommended grams of protein is based on kgs of body weight.

Shouldn’t it be per kg of lean body mass?

The recommended dosing is higher for people trying to lose weight but the pod kept referencing a 75 kg rider. Lots of people are heavier than that.
A 125kg person would probably find it really difficult to eat 2+ grams of protein per kg of body weight a day. That would be five 50 gram meals, which your body might not even have the capacity to process.

Am I missing something?

1 Like

I would have asked this in the live chat but I’m a teacher and not available on Thursday mornings to participate.

You’re not missing something. There a lot of debate about targets for protein on weight loss. The thinking for a higher target (2g per kg bodyweight) is that you want to preserve lean mass by giving your body as much protein as possible while you are in a deficit.

In terms of the science of this recommendation…the protein deep dive section should have the sources on that.

I’ve resumed my dieting with a higher protein target. Means I basically need roughly 40g protein per meal. I’ve noticed its been easier to stick to reduced calories because that much protein does feel very satiating.

I mean, I think its satiating. Maybe my tastebuds have been nuked because I’m drinking / eating many protein shakes :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

Yeah my day goes much better when I get lots of fat and protein at breakfast. I basically am the typical 75 kg male cyclist, so I’m not worried about topping out my protein intake, and I’m not really trying to lose weight. Just seems to me that there’s a cap on how much protein a person can consume in a day. I know some 200 kg people who are trying to lose weight. It seems unlikely that they could eat 400 grams of protein every day.

1 Like

Its def a tricky balance.