Lowering FTP for endurance work

I started riding almost 2 years ago and I have bought a kickr 6 months ago and mainly focused my training on strength to improve my FTP but 2 weeks ago I started doing endurance work and can’t seem to finish the workouts so I lowered my FTP and I was still struggling then I decided to take a rest week and yesterday failed again so now I have lowered it again. My FTP gone up from 180 to 280 in a short time so is it just the case that my endurance muscles didn’t develop at the same pace or do I have a diffrent problem?

I feel like I know the answer but just need to hear it from someone else😂

1 Like

How long are your endurance rides and which ones did you try. Some are very easy like Pettit. Can’t imagine someone doesn’t complete those. How long did you recover and what makes you stop? Is the lung burning or the muscle shutting down?

I would guess it’s some combo of lack of endurance, insufficient nutrition or simply getting (mentally and physically) used to riding along at a steady effort for a long time which requires a different focus to doing short intervals with regular rest intervals.

How long are the endurance rides you’ve been doing? And what were the longest rides you were regularly doing before that? Are you eating before or during workouts? What kind of “struggle” is it? Are things just getting uncomfortable and you don’t want to carry on? Heart rate not that high but feels like you’re running on empty? Heart rate getting higher and higher until you blow?