Interval Training Novice ( Advice Needed)

I’m brand new to TrainerRoad and cycling as a whole. I’m currently following a TrainerRoad designed plan for Crit races that has me working out 3 times a week, each work out being either 1 , 1.25 or 1.5 Hours. I’m following the program exactly in terms of in-ride instructions, power target matching and spin ups. I’m currently wrapping up my first week.

This question has probably been asked multiple times before but what is the overall advice on supplemental work outs? I feel as if i could train more, but will that be to my detriment? I’m aware that as the weeks go by, the TSS on each work out will increase. I appreciate any advice!

Are you doing any outside riding?

Nope! Still a bit cold where i live.

How new are you? Like, first week of the plan or a few months in? If weeks, then give it some time and see how you feel in a few weeks.
I would be careful adding but if you do, make it easy, like Z1-2 only.

What is your athletic history? New to cycling with no other background is very different than someone who has developed an understanding of how their body reacts to training.

Right now, go easy for supplemental. There are recovery rides listed. Try yoga as a supplemental. Stay limber and build the core. Not everything has to be done on the bike to get faster on the bike.

Just to be different, or in the smaller group, Id say stick to the level of training you are at right now. Since you mentioned you are new to cycling as well as training, know that the route that a lot of cyclist take when they get into the sport is to go out and ride, and ride hard, pushing as hard as you can for an hour, or somewhere around that time frame. And when you go out again, push hard again, then again.