Guidance for 10-15 hours weekly indoor training

Is there guidance for people who have 10 - 15 hours per week to train? I don’t do any racing but love spending time on the bike and getting faster. I have been using TR for 3+ years with success in general though on limited time, like everyone, due to work / commute. Without diving into much details, I now have a whole lot of time and was wondering how to go about planning my training for the next 9 months to 1 year. I hope to develop a bigger aerobic engine with more than high intensity low volume work while I can.

Using the (Base/Build/Specialty) cycle, I was thinking of using Traditional Base high volume, followed by only low volume build and specialty, but padding them with Z2 rides to reach my weekly hour budget. I was thinking the low volume (albeit long, 2.5+ hour/session) would allow little to no rest days most of the time. I tried looking for guidance in the Cycling Training Bible (5th edition) but they are unspecific about actual workouts, though, I did notice for athlete with more than 9 hours / week to train, there are no rest days at all:

1 Like

What did your training look like prior to having 10-15 hours to train? How much indoor training experience do you have.

There’s a chance I’m reading this wrong but, having no rest day(s) is a bad idea. The body needs time to digest and adapt to the work you’re putting in. Adaptation doesn’t happen during the training. No rest could lead to a quick build up of fatigue and derail your training plans.

Personally I would look to divide your training time up into indoor and outdoor sessions. Why not save three or four of those hours for a nice endurance ride on a Sunday? Too much indoor interval work can be counter productive.

3 Likes