3 intense workouts per week + long rides = too much! Strategies to Increase Volume?

I am a young professional, a 23-year-old male, who has been cycling since 2018 and has been riding with power for almost 5 years. I have been using TrainerRoad since 2019, but haven’t been consistent with it until recently.

I am someone who has “unlimited” time to train, as I do not have a stressful job at all (mostly work from home), and I am single. I am quite comfortable doing 9-12 hours per week of riding, and I’ve done that a lot back in 2021, 2020, and even 2019. Well, this was well before the RLGL feature came by, and going back, I noticed that most of my riding was in endurance (zone 2). Although there are some instances where I’ve managed to squeeze in a low volume training plan. Looking back, quite a bit of intense training was done on yellow and red days, which I presume caused me to burn out. My FTP was hovering around 285W.

Starting this year, I started to become more serious about consistency, and I am preparing for quite a lot of biking events ranging from road races, crit races, gran fondos to even some epic bikepacking trips! In 2023, my highest FTP was 290W, and I believe that it was due to my consistency!

Now in 2024, I started training back in December and have completed General Base 1, General Base 2, and now I am nearing the end of the first half of the General Build (mid volume). I initially started this season with a low volume (3 intense workouts per week) and then upgraded to a mid-volume plan. I was aiming to do around 8-10 hours per week by incorporating some 2.5 - 3-hour endurance rides every week. I started this season with a 274W FTP in December, and now I am currently at 293W (4.0w/kg), and I expect to surpass 300W by the end of my build phase! I strength train twice per week. Well, I wouldn’t call this training, but just to maintain my strength - these are 15-20 minute sessions, and I don’t do too many reps to cause fatigue.