FTP - 42w down. What to do

Newbie here so I’d appreciate some advice on what to do.

I did my first FTP and found I was 42w down on my Zwift FTP. TR starts off at 70w and notches up by 10w so the test took twice as long as Zwift which starts at 100w and increments by 20w so that could be the reason my FTP was so far off as I was cycling twice as long?

My first workout seemed far too easy and concerned even with adaptations it won’t be pushing me. Can I do another out of synch FTP test to try again and will it change all subsequent workouts or should I sit tight as TR’s FTP test is more accurate and I’ve been living a lie for the last two years on Zwift?

Thanks, apology for the waffle.

1 Like

In my personal experience, the Zwift FTP ramp test overestimated my FTP. With that said, the most important thing is to be consistent with whatever test you use and stick with it. However 42w difference is very substantial. I’d try another workout or two and if it’s just not challenging then, yes, another FTP test.

2 Likes

Also new (week 1), similar thing happened to me. I ramp tested at a power that I can hold for 60min+. I’ve been upping the workout intensity to compensate. Interested to hear if anyone else has similar experiences.

Also remember that your progression levels will be at 1 starting off so the earlier workouts will be a much lower level. If you’re crushing the early workouts but answering the survey appropriately, the AT should bump those levels rather quickly by suggesting tougher workouts.

2 Likes

Yeah, now it doesn’t matter what your FTP within a certain margin. Especially when noice and when erring on the side of lower rather than higher. Full steam ahead OP!

As I understand it, the Zwift ramp test is fixed, starting at 100W with 20W steps.

On the other hand TR scales to your existing FTP, starting at 46% with 6% steps.