First Ramp Test - Followup Questions

Hi everyone! I’m new to structured training and did my first ramp test this morning and was hoping for some input. I know the test should last around 25ish minutes with the warmup/cool down, but mine was 46 minutes. It started with an estimated FTP 70 and I ended up at 137. The beginning felt like I was spinning out for quite a while since the initial targets were so low. With the test lasting as long as it did, would you recommend retesting? I can’t help but think I could have gotten a few more intervals at a higher power if it didn’t take so long to get there, but being so new to structure, would retesting impact the workouts that it’s worth a retest?

I tried searching for other posts on the same topics, but I didn’t see any that referenced a test that ended up lasting quite so long as this one.

For reference if needed, I’m 5’3", 103 lbs and the workout was completed on a Kickr in ERG mode.
Direct link to workout here: Log In to TrainerRoad

Thanks so much!

Difficult to tell as it rarely happens. That said I think the ramp test is to short so I add something like Taku first before I start so I’m ready to give it 100% when I start. It’s unlikely you would get a lot more out as you said you were spinning at the start which isn’t fatiguing…just a long warm up. The only way to tell is start the program you intend to follow and see how you feel. If it’s SSB LV or MV then the SS should require focus and get your HR up to about 80-85% max and the o/u should feel harder maybe up to about 90% max HR as the initial versions are quite tame…you can then reassess after a couple of weeks…but beware cumulative fatigue …sometimes it feels ok at the start but the build up of fatigue gets you in week 4/5 especially if you are new to structured training. Good luck :grinning:

1 Like