Feature request: Build workouts around my routine rides

I am new to indoor riding on a trainer (~4 months) and very new to TR (just started). So far, I am very impressed by the quality of the product, the workouts, and the podcast which I’ve started listening to. So, thanks!

And, I apologize in advance if this was already discussed - I could not find a discussion of this specific topic.

So, to my questions: I spent a lot of time trying to build a training plan that works for me.
Here is the challenge: I have at least 3 rides each week that I don’t want to give up. For example, a 4-5 hour group ride each Saturday, and a 2-3 hour MTB ride on a Tuesday. Also, I commute to work about 3 times a week (45 minutes each way on hilly terrain).
Overall, I have been spending well over 10 hours a week on my bike/trainer during the last months.

For a training plan, I could choose a high volume plan and then tweak it so that these group rides and commutes will coincide with outside rides. However, for a variety of reasons, it is not realistic to even get close to what the designated workouts call for. (I’ve read the discussions about doing workouts outside)

Here is my suggestion:
It would be great if there was an option to specify these rides (duration, ,mileage, effort level) as “givens” when building the plan, and then have TR take them into considerations when adding the structured workouts. Of course this will not result in THE best plan, but it will probably be the best plan given these constraints (I don’t want to give up those rides which are a big reason for me keeping wanting to ride).

What I eventually did now, was to choose a low volume plan, and I scheduled the workouts on the few days that I don’t have any fixed rides, or in addition to commutes which are not that demanding.

Any advice thoughts would be appreciated,

Many thanks
Yoram

1 Like