5 Years of TR but still getting dropped (Updated with Interim Results )

Hello - In short, the title says it all HELP!

I’ve been riding for 5 years, solo mainly, until this year where I joined a group of guys 25-30 (i’m only a few above that) but no matter what I do, I consistently get dropped when the pace kicks up, the crew starts “flexing” and the surges begin. These guys have just started riding in the past year, Cat 5, but despite that, they all have this natural fitness and “extra gear” I just can’t hang on to. I’ve gotten a bit faster riding with them, but defintiely can’t hang for the hammer sessions.

Background for the TR forum: I’m 5’11", 170lbs, FTP of 216, and can ride just about all day at a moderate pace (think 160 mi @ 17mph). I’ve done sweet spot, sustained power and the climbing plans and log around 6-7 hours a week on the bike. We do regular tuesday/ thursday high intensity rides (rolling terrain) and long weekend rides (rolling but much more climbing). While I can hold my FTP for as long as I need, when the pace kicks up, think 350+ watts w/plenty of short uphill sprints at 450+, I hang on for a bit but then just crack - heart rate spikes to 190 and you all know the rest.

Besides HTFU, what training or tips does anyone have that I do. Feel like I need to get my V02 or Anerobic capacity much higher, or… is this what i got to work with? Any specific ideas would be great and feel free to ask anything that you need to help your response… Hoping to avoid the “just find a new group” response.

Thanks everyone!

5 Likes

Based how you have described your situation, it looks like your FTP just isn’t high enough. Your weight looks fine for your height, so it really is just raising that FTP. Those 350w and 450w spikes are a huge output when your FTP is only 216w.