Why not to skip SSB1 after build. A cautionary tale

I wanted to share some information about choosing a follow on plan after I fell into a bit of a trap choosing a plan after a really effective base and build period.

First a bit of background. I’m 41 yrs old and pretty a pretty athletic build with a multi sport background (rugby, skiing, running, swimming) for most of my life. I’ve been riding for about 3 years, mainly outside in the wonderful environments around Las Vegas which provide excellent roads and great conditions for most of the year with a little bit of TR when I couldn’t get out. My FTP was 260 (2.8 w/kg) in the summer when I started a 6 month military deployment. Thankfully I had access to an indoor trainer whilst I was away and had time every day to train. So, I set about a plan which involved following SSBMV1 followed by SSBMV2 and then Sus Power Build. At the end of that I would have about 6 weeks before I was able to go home.

I had great consistent gains over the blocks of SSBMV and SPB seeing my FTP raise from 260 to 289 to 308 to 319 and a slight decrease in weight bringing me to 3.7 w/kg. So what to do next? I have no inclination to race and my motivation is purely personal to increase both my ability to enjoy riding and see the Strava segments continually lowering. Deciding to heed Chad’s advice, I decided to head back into base rather than a speciality plan but, as I really enjoyed the VO2max elements of SSBMV2 I decided to redo that plan in full rather than SSBMV1. Here’s my cautionary tale…