Whoop, Body Battery (Firstbeat), Apple Watch app, or Plain old TSB

Hey all,

Just curious what everyone is using to monitor recovery and integrate it into their training plan.

By way of background I’m a 44 year old physician with very inconsistent hours. I frequently work into the evening with Urgent/Emergent cases and get called in the middle of the night. I’m having a hard time gauging my recovery based solely on “feel,” as I have had some fantastic workouts after a horrible call night and some really poor workouts a day later when I should be recovered.

There are now various apps, products, etc that state through various metrics such as RHR, HRV, Sleep “Quality” etc can help asses your recovery level before hard training. I’ve used the Whoop with mixed results and I’m curious about Garmin’s approach. I’m very curious about any Apple watch apps as I use the Apple watch as my daily driver for the call notifications. It untethers me from my phone.

Is there a RPS (Recovery Preditive Score, yes I just made that up) and an app or wearable device that would account for life stress outside of training stress? TSB is great for workout stress, but what about the other 22 hours of the day?

4 Likes

Last year 6 weeks before Leadville I got a training program from Fastcat Coaching. It was a solid program but in part of it he recommended a Whoop band. I bought mine in July and have been using it ever since. Here are my thoughts:

• I love my band and wear it 24 x 7
  • I download it every morning and then plug in the battery to have a full charge
  • I check my recovery - which is always a function of my work the day before + the sleep I got.

And here is the kicker: the first time in my life I have manipulated my habits to increase the recovery! Basically that means to get more sleep.