What next after Build?

Mods - i know there are a few of these posts but usually specific to peoples circumstances and goals. Feel free to move if you prefer.

So this is my first year with TR. In October I started SSB HV1 onto HV2 and now I am in week 6 of General Build MV. In that time I’ve gone from around 3.2W/kg to 3.9 (226W to 283W) with a bit of hope I might hit 4 on my next ramp test. Almost all of this has been done inside.

I had planned to move on Century since this would be my ‘ideal’ kind of fitness, a long hilly day out in the saddle. However I don’t currently have any events or Gran Fondos lined up and probably won’t have now until the end of the summer so not sure if this will be a waste of time.

Maybe its better to take the opportunity to go all the way back to Base and keep improving on that. I’ve been looking at a polarized/trad base option but I actually really enjoyed the SSB first time round, even at HV.

Alternatively I could repeat build or switch to something like sustained build.

Don’t know if my lack of goals/events makes it more simple or more complicated!

1 Like

are you using plan builder?

1 Like

You’ve more or less answered your own question. I’d only add that back-to-back build isn’t usually recommended

1 Like

I did have a look at plan builder and it looked like it was putting me back to base

If you don’t have an event, doesn’t have to be a race, that plan builder can, err, build towards then you’ll just get Base, Build, Speciality. Give it an event on a specific date, tell it that you’ve done Base and Build and it should give something a bit more specific.

It makes sense, remember that specialty is the icing on the cake so if aren’t getting ready to eat it you wouldn’t layer a double the amount of icing on you would bake a bigger cake

2 Likes

Yeah makes sense, although…double icing you say? :smile:

3 Likes