Week off before "A" race?

I am signed up for a weekend Omnium May 25-26 and the week prior, 15-21 I am Headed to Ottawa for a Barmitzvah so I won’t be able to ride. I am really concerned about losing fitness for that week. What are your thoughts?

Right now I am doing the Low Volume Base Phase as I am still quite new to TR and I am also riding outside and based on the TSS score I change my third ride to a shorter active recovery ride but find myself changing the days a lot.

On the May 25 Weekend my A races are a 16km TT and 13km Crit both in the same day just a few hours between and the following day is a 36km RR which I marked as a C race. I am racing Cat 5/D.

Being off and not riding from May 15th to the 21st, how will this affect my training? Is there anything I can do? maybe 2-5km Runs instead? Maybe weightless lunges or Squats?

Thanks all!

Jeff

1 Like

Hey Jeff,

Thanks for being active in the forum!

I just wanted to drop a couple links to some blog posts that may help give you a good idea about how to make the most of your week away:

I hope that helps. :smile: Good luck with those races when you get back! :biking_man:

Happy Training!

I personally do not like time off before races. However you may have different results.

Thank you everyone. I don’t like taking time off either. but I don’t think I will have a choice. I should be able to get two-three days when I get back. I will see how a VO2 workout feels when I get back. Most of the time off is driving so biking is out of the question.