Training load and recovery

Hey! I hope I’m posting this in the right section.

I’m in need of some input on my training schedule and how I go about things. I’m currently not recovering enough between work, kids, training and other responsibilities and I need some other eyes looking at what I’m doing to see if I can change things up.

Age 36
Height 6.15 187cm
Weight 209 95kg
Bf 15%

My background is swimming, I was top 5 in my country for my age between 12-16 yrs but I quit when I was 17 and didn’t train anything in any capacity again until a couple of years ago.

I started going to the gym 3 years ago and worked out like a body builder. I did a recomp and what used to be alot of fat became alot of muscle.
The past 12 months I’ve been slowly incorporating more cardio into my schedule and my long term goal is to do an ironman. Maybe next summer or the summer after depending on how things go . I’ve done a few long distance open water swims with great success and a couple century rides in local races the past year and it’s gone well.

My schedule is as follows
(All bike riding is done on trainer with TR low volume plan)

Mon. 45m run
Tue. Morning Gym PUSH, evening 60m bike
Wed. Morning Gym LEGS
Thu. Morning Gym PULL, evening 60m bike
Fri. 45m run
Sat. 90m Bike
Sun. 120m swim

Now, between family, work and life i sometimes get involuntary rest days because something comes up. But I feel like I need to push even HARDER and it frustrates me I can’t recover enough already.

My diet is dialed in. Hitting all micros and macros and eating between 3000-3500 calories daily. 250g protein, 90g fat and the rest is carbs. Mostly rice. Alot of fruits and vegetables and supplements.

I’m guessing I’m not alone in having these feelings. What are the rest of you all doing to recover better ? Any advice or input on what I’m doing?

1 Like